Skip to content

Congratulations to the SCPS Engineering Design Team for their second place finish in the 2015 Armstrong Engineering Design Challenge.  The SCPS team worked for four months designing and building a battery-operated, all-terrain wheel chair.  Students met at ArmstrongSaturday to display their final project and demonstrate the chair’s functionality.  Students competed in the areas of poster presentation, a 40-meter speed race, a maneuverability course, a timed battery swap and the documentation of the design process in a team journal.  The team consisted of nine SCPS students, an Armstrong engineering student and a professional engineer project mentor.  SCPS team members were Michala Calvert, Jack Bush, Zach Remick, Harrison Smith, Julia Manalo, Julie Petrillo, Griffin Ball, Coleson Jefferies, and Robby McCool.  A special “Thank You” goes out to alumnus Breck Van Puffelen for volunteering his welding skills and for his dedication to the success of the team.   The students did a great job placing another brick in the path to building strong STEM education programs at SCPS, and they learned the iterative process of engineering design along the way.  We are so proud of you! Great Job Raiders!!!!