Skip to content

2016 Ecraft Team (2)

Congratulations to the 2016 Engineering Design Team for the excellent showing at the Armstrong State University Engineering Design Challenge. The SCPS team received the Most Aesthetic Design award and placed second in the Best Overall Design category. The 2016 challenge was to design and build a battery-powered hovercraft. Students were judged on the completion of an engineering journal, a poster design and presentation, a 20-meter start-to-stop race, and a timed maneuverability course. Planning for the project began in late November with students meeting Friday afternoons to work on the design and construction of the hovercraft. Team members included Coleson Jeffries, Julie Petrillo, Henri White, Griffin Ball, Robby McCool, Camila Quintero, Star Zhang, Jay Bradley, Blake Chance and Carlos Fernandez. The team was coached by Upper School science teacher Mrs. Dana Barnwell, project mentor Mr. Ken Anthony, Jedson Engineering Inc., and parent volunteer Mr. Rhett Ball.

2016 Ecraft Awards (2)