Clubs & Honor Societies

Clubs

Beta Club:  recognizes sophomores, juniors, and seniors who are high academic achievers.  Inductees must also have exemplary conduct.  Members must have semester GPA’s of 88 or above in all classes.  By invitation only.  Meeting date:   1st Wednesday of the month at lunch. Dues:  TBA .  Sponsors: Dana Goodman and Cathy Royal.  Contact info:  dgoodman@savcps.com and croyal@savcps.com.

Book Club:   Students who are interested in reading and discussing novels together.  All interested students are welcome.  Meeting date/place:  Thursdays at lunch, Mrs. McCurry’s room.    Dues:  none.  Sponsor:  Carla McCurry.  Contact info: cmcurry@savcps.com

Environmental Club: Students work together to keep our campus/Eden (200 acre nature center) clean.  All interested students grades 9-12 are welcome.  One Saturday workday of the 3-4 scheduled is required.  Signed permission form required.  Meeting date/place: 2nd Wednesday at lunch in Room 108.    Dues:  $5.   Sponsor: Bob Graham.  Contact info:  bgraham@savcps.com

Fine Arts Club:  Students who enjoy participating in the arts.  Students work on portfolios, competitions, and a group project.  All interested students are welcome.  Meeting date/place:  2nd & 4th  Thursdays 3p-4pm in the Eckburg Art Room .    Dues:  $10.   Sponsor:  Dana Richardson.  Contact info: drichardson@savcps.com

Key Club:  Students perform community service for SCPS and our community.  All interested students are welcome.  Meeting date/place:   3rd Wednesday of each month at lunch in the Media Center.    Dues:  $15 (checks made out to SCPS).   Sponsor: Beth Sasser.  Contact info: bsasser@savcps.com

Mu Alpha Theta:  Open to any Upper School student who has completed 2.5 years of college prep mathematics.  Members  tutor other students in math.  Meeting date:  Tuesdays before school .    Dues: $10.   Sponsor: Terry Page.  Contact info:  tpage@savcps.com

Political Debate Club:  Members engage in debates about politics and current issues.  All interested students are welcome.  Meeting date:  2nd Thursdays at lunch.    Dues:  None.   Sponsors : Marshall Wood and Sue Walea.  Contact info:  mwood@savcps.com and swalea@savcps.com

Prayer Group:  Student led weekly Bible study/prayer group.  All interested students are welcome.  No one is required to pray out loud. Meeting date/place:  Fridays at 1:05 in Rm. 29.    Dues: None .   Sponsor: Sharon Brown.  Contact info:  sbrown@savcps.com

SADD:  Students Against Destructive Decisions.  All interested students are welcome.  Meeting date/place:    Every Thursday at lunch in Upper School Gym.    Dues:  $5.   Sponsor:  Debbie Fairbanks.  Contact info:  dfairbanks@savcps.com

Science and Engineering Club:  Members meet monthly to explore interests in Science and Engineering.  Future competitions originating from this club may include Engineering Design Team and Science Olympiad competitions. Dues: TBD.  Sponsors: The Science Department. Contact dbarnwell@savcps.com.

Show Choir: Do you like to sing? Do you like to dance? Then come be a part of the SCPS “Rhythm In Red” Show Choir! A show choir (originally known as a “swing choir”) is a group of people who combine choral singing with dance, sometimes within the context of a specific idea or story. All interested students are welcome.  Meeting date/place:   Mondays and some Tuesdays at lunch in the Eckburg Drama Room.    Dues:  None.   Sponsor:  Donna Stembridge.  Contact info: dstembridge@savcps.com.

Spanish Club:  Students who are interested in Spanish language and culture.  Students will help with tutoring lower level Spanish students.  All interested students are welcome.  Meeting date/place:  1st Wednesday of the month at lunch, Miss Minerva’s room.    Dues:  $10.   Sponsor:  Michelle Minerva.  Contact info: mminerva@savcps.com

Spirit Crew:  Individuals that are interested in supporting ALL SCPS athletes. The Spirit Crew’s main duty is to promote school spirit. Members make posters, cheer for school sports teams, help with student spirit at pep rallies, and work concessions. During games, Spirit Crew members lead cheers and chants in the stands and applaud athletes for their efforts. Spirit Crew members must maintain the highest level of good sportsmanlike conduct, respect all athletes, and represent SCPS to the highest honor. Meeting date/place: TBA.  Dues: TBA. Sponsor: Charita Hardy.  Contact info: chardy@savcps.com.

Honor Societies

French National Honor Society:  recognizes those who excel in French classes. 2nd semester French II students and above, by invitation only.  Meeting date:   Tuesdays at lunch.    Dues:  none.   Sponsor: Patti Peebles.  Contact info:  ppeebles@savcps.com

National Honor Society: recognizes 2nd semester sophomores, juniors, and seniors with cumulative GPA’s of 90 or above (checked each semester).  Inductees must be taking at least one advanced or AP class and also have exemplary conduct.  Community service is required of members.  Meeting date:  4th  Wednesday of month at lunch.    Dues:  $10.  By invitation only.  Sponsors: Melanie Shepherd and Jan Kelly.  Contact info: mshepherd@savcps.com  and jkelly@savcps.com.

Organizations

Academic Competition Teams

Math Team:  Students participate in math competitions.  All interested
students are welcome.  Meeting date/place:   Does not begin until 2nd semester. Dues:   None.  Sponsors:  Mary Ann Dudley and Terry Page.  Contact info: mdudley@savcps.com and tpage@savcps.com

Quiz Bowl:  Members compete in weekly academic competition matches and tournaments.  All interested students are welcome.  Meeting date:  Tuesdays/Thursdays at lunch.    Dues:  None.   Sponsors:  Steven Edenfield and Langley Meredith.  Contact info:  sedenfield@savcps.com and lmeredith@savcps.com.

Science Bowl:   Members compete in weekly academic competition matches and tournaments.  All interested students are welcome.  Meeting date:  Tuesdays at lunch.    Dues:  None.   Sponsors:  Dana Barnwell and Langley Meredith.  Contact info:  dbarnwell@savcps.com and lmeredith@savcps.com.

 Science and Engineering Club:  Members meet monthly to explore interests in Science and Engineering.  Competitions originating from this club include Engineering Design Team and Science Olympiad competitions. Dues: TBD.  Sponsors: The Science Department. Contact dbarnwell@savcps.com.